Private Short Term Accommodation Rentals

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin Email this link

Consultation has concluded. Please visit www.huntsville.ca if you are looking to apply for a Private Short Term Accommodation Rental licence. 


The Q&A section on this page will still be visible if you are looking for an answer to a commonly asked question.

image table lamp, nicely made bed and soft bench at end of bed

The Short-Term Rental Accommodation program was initiated by the Town to ensure all rentals operate safely, in accordance with the Fire Protection Standards and the Ontario Building Code. Residents and property owners who wish to rent out rooms or entire units for a period of 28 days or less, are asked to obtain a licence on huntsville.ca/STRentals

You may ask a question on this page using the Q&A tool below. Please be sure to log-in so that we can reply back to you promptly.

The Short-Term Rental Accommodation program was initiated by the Town to ensure all rentals operate safely, in accordance with the Fire Protection Standards and the Ontario Building Code. Residents and property owners who wish to rent out rooms or entire units for a period of 28 days or less, are asked to obtain a licence on huntsville.ca/STRentals

You may ask a question on this page using the Q&A tool below. Please be sure to log-in so that we can reply back to you promptly.

CLOSED: This discussion has concluded.

Ask any questions you have here...

  • Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin Email this link

    Hello: I'm a little confused. Someone mentioned, in this list of Q&A, that those who have a single room don't NEED a license. Is this true? Thank you.

    annleemicky asked 8 months ago

    Thank you for your question, sorry this is not true, if you are renting one room you still require a license.


  • Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin Email this link

    I have read on the website that there is a zoning amendment application that needs to be filed before March 1. I do not see this application form on this website. Is this deadline still in place? As well, is this only for secondary suites or for separate properties?

    Laura asked 8 months ago

    The Zoning Amendment Application only needs to be filled out if you are looking to rent a legal Secondary Suite.

  • Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin Email this link

    What metrics are you going to use in determining that a person will have their STR license revoked with your proposed 3-strike policy pertaining to the noise, parking and garbage by-laws? Also, how many By-law officers are employed specifically for these by-laws and what are their hours of operation? If they are not available 24/7, does the OPP have jurisdiction to enforce these by-laws in our area at any hour of the day or night?

    Lucy Claire asked 11 months ago

    If we receive a noise complaint as an example that would be considered a strike. We will use our current staff compliment of By-Law Officers to deal with complaints who work extended hours on the weekend. 

    If we receive a complaint that can't be resolved we would levy the appropriate fine in addition to adding the 'strike' to the host. OPP can be called and would notify us if they received a noise to complaint so staff could follow up and investigate its validity.

  • Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin Email this link

    I am very pleased to learn that Huntsville is implementing a licensing program for STR's. I am hoping that this will address concerns for safety, additional pressure on municipal services, environmental concerns and the quality of life for residents on our beautiful lakes. This is a non conforming commercial enterprise in a residential area. Since it is too late to prevent it altogether, the appropriate controls need to be enforced to address the concerns I have noted. What will the fines be and how will they be collected, if a STR continues when the license has been revoked?

    Dreader asked 12 months ago

    Thank you for your comment, if you review report in the News Feed it outlines what the fine structure is. We are proposing a 3 strike system to revoke a license, a strike would consist of a noise, parking, overcrowding etc. However if a license is removed a homeowner would have the ability to appeal that decision. We will also work to identify vexatious complaints so a host is not unfairly targeted. 

  • Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin Email this link

    Is the city of huntsville going to enforce that renters for airbnb's property taxes are paid in full and up to date? What about people who live on private roads? Is the city going to enforce that airbnb rentals maintain the road due to extra traffic? It is not fair to the other property owners who live here year round.

    Houston asked 12 months ago

    The Town would use existing methods to ensure taxes are paid in full. The standards of a private road would be set out in each individual agreement that is passed during the planning process and would have to dealt with on a case by case basis.

  • Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin Email this link

    I understand an owner wanting to rent their house or cottage for a week or two to a suitable renter in order to offset the costs of cottage or home ownership. But, renting the property for more than a few weeks in the summer and/or the winter turns the cottage or home ownership into a business – and not a vacation or residential property. Once ownership becomes a “business venture” vs letting your friends use it, or recovering a part of your costs outlay - it would seem to only be fair to require the property to be zoned as such. In that way, people such as myself, will know that they are buying next to a commercial operation – and not a neighbour. I think it goes without saying that re-zoning or re-characterizing the permitted use of neighbouring/adjacent land would be wholly unfair to the current property owners. For example, a cottage owner who did not buy a cottage next to a business/rental property is now going to be in such a spot. Additionally, as I understand it - there is no real system that vets the potential renters (other than the owner’s review of their history on STR site). As such - is there consideration being given to limiting the number of weeks a property can be rented (ie, not a room or two - but the entire dwelling)? Would neighbours be given an opportunity to voice opposition to a particular property becoming a STR location? And, will the municipality be involved in vetting renters? I would also like to hear about the potential ramifications to property owners that ignore the rules and regs (as there are many who are renting as STR now in Huntsville - and there seems to be no consequence).

    Consultant asked 12 months ago

    Thank you for your question, the legislation will not limit the number of days a unit can be rented on a short term basis in a year nor will the municipality will not be involved in vetting renters. 

    To deal with neglectful renters or owners the town is proposing an enforcement model that after 3 complaints the Town could revoke an individuals license, subsequently the property would no longer legally be allowed to be rented on a short term basis. If an owner were to ignore the rules proposed they would be operating in non-compliance and would be subject to fines.


    Thank you.

  • Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin Email this link

    Our home is located in a residential neighbourhood in the urban area of Huntsville. We have been renting out two spare rooms in our home for the last couple years through AirBnB. These rooms do not have private entrances or kitchen facilities. We do not want long term boarders in our home as our children regularly return for holidays and weekends. Is this use in contravention of current bylaws? Would we be able to get a license for this use under the new regulations? If not, what is the rationale for not allowing this use?

    Michael Ankenmann asked 12 months ago

    Thank you for your question, we have received comments around the issue identified in your question and are working to try and craft legislation they would permit you to obtain a license and continue to operate.


  • Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin Email this link

    Hello Mr. Ovell; I have just read in the local paper that the town of Huntsville's proposed licensing, oversight and taxation rules regarding short-term rentals would exclude those who rent a spare room or secondary suite. My question is why property owners, some of whom have been operating Bed & Breakfast businesses in their primary residence for many years in the municipality, would now not be allowed to do so? Having worked for a local cottage rental enterprise, the majority of complaints we received were regarding properties where the owner was not a permit resident, nor did they live within the resident which was being rented.

    Lucy Claire asked 12 months ago

    Thank you for your question, Bed and Breakfasts businesses who are operating are doing so in areas that are zoned to allow them to run a business and this legislation would continue to allow them to do so, we would only be requiring them to contribute to the Municipal Accommodation Tax Program.

    In regards to spare rooms and secondary suites, we have received comment regarding this issue and are working to try and accommodate these concerns in the new By-Law and allow individuals to continue to rent out spare rooms or secondary suites.

  • Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin Email this link

    People purchased the house beside me here in Hunstsville by lying in a letter to the sellers saying that they would love to raise their kids in this lovely home(LIE) They also aggressively outbid the other interested buyers(real families) and got the home. It's an air b and b, and It's a total nightmare for me as I have lost all privacy and cant sleep in my bedrooms because of the noise. I will say 12 cars showing up in my driveway at 3am is a total disruption. It is a constant flow of strangers, and as a single female, I no longer enjoy my property. These people are on the Huntsville air b & b website saying we have finally broken into Huntsville market and have a "cottage" with waterfront views in a Muskoka woodland setting for rent. It was a family home and now its a hotel. No one asked me if this was ok, and I am the one being negatively impacted by this. Now I want to sell in spring and leave Huntsville because of this. I am the only person on my street that picks up garbage, I stoop and scoop after my pet and I also bring in stray cats and dogs to ospca to help them. I am the good guy you want in your town because I give a crap!! Now I'm out of here, who's going to buy my house? Thanks, Tracey who used to like living here, Perrin.

    Tracey L. Perrin asked 12 months ago

    Thank You for your input and will record your comments.

  • Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin Email this link

    It seems short term rentals are to be treated differently and more severely then small commercial rental businesses (eg motel, bed and breakfast, locations providing efficiency cottages). For short term rentals the penalties for infractions can include loss of ability to rent (ie loss of license). On the other hand the same infractions by commercial entities seem to result in fines but not loss of the ability to continue to rent. Why should there be a difference. Why a higher penalty to someone trying to meet tax, hydro costs for a cottage they use and rent occasionally?

    Doug B asked 12 months ago

    Thank you for your question, the businesses you have identified are operating in locations that are zoned for commercial operations and subsequently have been planned to help mitigate against some the issues eg. noise, parking, septic, neighborhood character that we are facing with Short Term Rentals. This is managed during planning process with larger lot sizes, ensuring adequate parking and septic systems matching occupancy loads as an example. With some Short Term Rentals operating in areas that not zoned for commercial uses we have to develop a framework to help manage the issues that have arisen while respecting those neighbors who have bought or are renting property in areas zoned for residential purposes.